Thursday 30 September 2010

Automation scholorships

The International Society of Automation (ISA) is now accepting applications for its 2011 ISA Educational Foundation Scholarships. These scholarships are awarded to students worldwide in two- and four-year colleges and universities, and graduate students, who demonstrate outstanding potential for long-range contribution to the fields of automation, instrumentation, and control. The scholarships support tuition and related expenses and research activities and initiatives. The recipients will be chosen at ISA’s annual Spring Leaders Meeting in 2011 which is scheduled for St Louis (MO US).

Scholarships of $5,000 are provided to the top two undergraduate students, while the amounts of the other scholarships vary. More than $62,000 was awarded to the 2010 recipients.

To be eligible for consideration, applicants must be currently enrolled in a graduate or undergraduate program in an instrumentation, systems, or automation discipline (two-year program or four-year baccalaureate program or its equivalent) at an educational institution in their country of residence. Two-year-program applicants must have completed at least one academic semester or 12 semester hours or the equivalent. Four-year-degree program applicants must be in the sophomore year or higher of their study, or the equivalent, at the time of application. Also, applicants must be full-time students and have an overall grade-point average (GPA) of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.

Contributions to the ISA Educational Foundation come from the following sources: Norman E. Huston Endowment, the Paros-Digiquartz Fund, the Bob and Mary Ives Endowment, the Wilbanks scholarship, the ISA Chemical and Petroleum Industries Division Endowment, the ISA Food and Pharmaceutical Industries Division Endowment, the ISA Executive Board Scholarship, ISA Life Members Committee Scholarship, ISA Section and District Scholarships, the General Education Fund, and others.

1 comment:

  1. Hope this will be of any help to someone needing.

    American Medical Association (AMA) Foundation Minority Scholars Award

    These are $10,000 school scholarships
    that are awarded annually. Applicants are required to be current first-year or second-year students who are permanent residents or citizens of the United States. Students of eligible minority background include African American/Black, American Indian, Native Hawaiian, Alaska Native, and Hispanic/Latino. Each medical school dean or dean’s designated representative is allowed to submit up to 2 nominated candidates.