Monday 12 June 2017

Automation discipline well served in Ireland.

The AGM of the Ireland Section of the International Society of Instrumentation (ISA) was held recently.  It will continue to foster new advances in automation systems and technologies through technical seminars, events and training.
Some members at the AGM with President 2017-2018 John Murphy (with chain of office!)
The record of the section continues to impress and this is underlined by the number of Section Members that continue the reputation of serving in various position on the world-wide governance of the Society. Last year saw election of Brian Curtis to the signal honour as international President for the 2018 term (Our report October 2016).  Earlier this year David O’Brien started a two year term as the District 12 (Europe, Middle East, Africa = EMEA) Vice President (2017-2018). Both Billy Walsh and Declan Lordan also serve on the Executive Board of the global Society. This participation continues the tradition of serving the international automation community since the section was founded over forty years ago. The Ireland section is unique in the sense that it has a committee of 14 members where three of them sit on the main and a fourth is a District 12 VP.  As Billy Walsh, the section Secretary commented "We are the smallest country in Europe population wise in relation to the other sections , yet we hold these four key positions!".

A programme of technical talks was completed during the year. A joint ISA/ISPE Seminar titled: “Data Paralysis to Predictive Analysis” was held for a full day at the National Maritime College of Ireland (NMCI) in Cork. This event was well attended and it featured a number of table-top exhibits.

The 2016 Section Honours and Awards celebration was held in the Common Room, UCC in December. The Deputy Lord Mayor of Cork, Councillor P.J. Hourican was the guest of honour. The event was well attended.

The Ireland Section has always had a good relationship with the academic staff in Cork Institute of Technology (CIT) and the education instructors within the Cork Education & Training Board (CETB). New links are been forged with the next generation of academic staff within CIT so as to promote ISA and continue a tradition that has existed for decades. Additionally, the section continues to maintain correspondence with key personnel within Institute of Technology Carlow (ITC) and Institute of Technology Blanchardstown (ITB). It continually seeks to strengthen links with the departments in other educational establishments involved in automation.

A new committee was elected and the John Murphy was re-nominated and elected to continue with the role of ISA Ireland Section – President for 2017 / 2018. He said "As part of my re-newed goals and objectives as President of the section for the coming year is 
i) Further increased awareness on Cyber Security in industry with ISA99/IEC62433 training course in Ireland, due to its critical importance today to the Life Science / Manufacturing industry as we are facing a new era with security of automation systems in today’s digital age. i
i) Further promotion of new advances in automation systems and technologies through our technical seminars, events and training. This is being built on the already established foundation we have within the section."

He lauded the continuation of links with educational establishments and the interaction between members and these bodies.

Committee members include Billy Walsh*, Liam O’Brien, David O’Connor, Declan Lordan*, Brendan Curtis, Alan Bateman, Wayne Bursey, Tim Crowe, Edmond Cuffe, Brian Curtis*, Paul Murray, David O’Brien* and Aidan Smith.

* Also hold positions on the Global Executive Board or the EMEA District.

@IrelandISA  #PAuto #ISAuto

No comments:

Post a Comment