Thursday, 11 December 2014

Automation authors honoured.

The International Society of Automation (ISA) has published details of the recipients of its 2014 author awards presented annually by ISA’s Publications Department.

“Each year, ISA is proud to recognize and thank all of the talented authors and contributors who help develop, review and deliver outstanding ISA publications and technical resources to automation and control professionals throughout the world,” commented Susan Colwell, manager of ISA’s Publications Department.

Winners are recognized for their editorial contributions to a wide range of ISA publications, including ISA books; InTech, ISA’s bi-monthly magazine for automation and control professionals; and ISA Transactions, ISA’s bi-monthly professional journal dedicated to the science and engineering of measurement and automation.

Awards and award recipients
The Keith Otto Award
The Keith Otto Award recognizes the author or authors of the best article in InTech magazine. The award was presented to Harmik Begi, Gregory Bischoff and Josh Gangl for their article, “Process automation—Biopharmaceutical single-to-multiproduct conversion,” which appeared in the September/October 2013 issue of InTech.
Begi serves as the Director of Information Systems at Amgen, a position he has held since 2005. Before that, he served as Senior Manager of Engineering at Baxter BioScience and as Senior Engineer at the Coca-Cola Company.
Bischoff is the Principle Automation Engineer at Amgen. Before joining Amgen, he served as Automation Engineer at Roche Colorado Corporation and as an engineer at Emerson Process Management.
Gangl, operations IS platform lead at Amgen, possesses more than 15 years of process engineering, process automation, and manufacturing information systems experience.
Keith Otto, after whom this award is named, was a dedicated member and one-time Publications Department Vice President at ISA. He passed away earlier this year. May he rest in peace.

The Nels Tyring Award
The Nels Tyring Award recognizes the author or authors of the best published article in one of the Society's journals. Robert Rice, Ph.D. and Richard Bontatibus are this year's recipients for their article, “Automation IT—Predictive maintenance embraces analytics,” which appeared in the January/February 2013 issue of InTech.
As Vice President of Engineering at Control Station, Inc., Dr. Rice leads Control Station’s research and development program. Bontatibus recently joined Control Station as its Vice President of Global Sales. Previously, he worked at Emerson Process Management where he directed asset reliability sales throughout the North American region.
Nels Tyring was a former Publications VP and long serving volunteer in the society known for his encouragements of younger members and authors.

The Thomas G. Fisher Award of Excellence
Presented annually by the ISA Publications Department and ISA Standards and Practices Department, the Thomas G. Fisher Award of Excellence recognizes stellar achievement in a standards-based reference publication. This year’s award recipient is Charles H. Gifford, who wrote the 2013 book, The MOM Chronicles: ISA-95 Best Practices Book 3.0.
For the past 30 years, Gifford has developed advanced manufacturing systems in direct support of continuous improvement initiatives in a wide variety of industries: aerospace, electronics, automotive, food and beverage, telecom, energy, and life sciences. A lean operations management consultant, he has published over 40 papers and five books on the subject of operations management best practices. As Chairman of the ISA-95 Best Practices Working Group, he served as the Chief Editor and contributing author of the ISA books, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Manufacturing Operations Management: ISA-95 Best Practices Book 1.0 and When Worlds Collide in Manufacturing Operations: ISA-95 Best Practices Book 2.0 (which was recognized as ISA’s best standards-based book in 2010).
Thomas G. Fisher was an ISA member and ISA Fellow who served the Society for many years, most notably as Publications Department Vice President and Editor of ISA Transactions. In addition, he wrote numerous books, contributed to the ISA84, ISA5.1 and ISA95 standards committees, and was the driving force behind the ISA88 batch control committee.

The Raymond D. Molloy Award
This year’s award recipient is Ronald L. Krutz, Ph.D., P.E., whose book, Industrial Automation and Control System Security Principles, outsold all other ISA books published in 2013.
Dr. Krutz, Chief Scientist at Security Risk Solutions, Inc., possesses more than 30 years of experience in industrial automation and control systems, distributed computing systems, computer architectures, information assurance methodologies, and information security training. Throughout his career, he has served as: a senior information security consultant at Lockheed Martin, BAE Systems, and REALTECH Systems Corporation; an Associate Director of the Carnegie Mellon Research Institute (CMRI); and a professor in the Carnegie Mellon University Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.
The Raymond D. Molloy Award is presented annually in honor of Raymond D. Molloy’s contributions to the automation profession. Molloy was dedicated to the ISA publications program for more than 20 years, maintaining a keen interest in developing high-quality publications that met the needs of measurement and control professionals. 

ISA Transactions Best Paper Award
ISA Transactions Best Paper Award recognizes the best technical paper published in ISA Transactions, the ISA professional journal dedicated to the science and engineering of measurement and automation, over the previous year. 
The winning paper, “Controller design approach based on linear programming”, ISA Transactions, Vol. 52, Issue 6,” was judged to be the best paper published in the journal in 2013. ISA Transactions Editor-in-Chief, Ahmad B. Rad, Ph.D., presented the award to Ryo Tanaka, who accepted it on behalf of the paper’s other co-authors: Hiroki Shibasaki, Hiromitsu Ogawa, Takahiro Murakami and Yoshihisa Ishida.

Tanaka is currently working toward his Doctor of Engineering Degree at the Graduate School of Science and Technology at Meiji University, where he also serves as a research associate.

No comments:

Post a Comment